Adventures In Saving 

Today was a very productive day. I went to Publix and CVS to grab some sales before they ran out and needed a raincheck. 

I have blogged before about saving money shopping. It does require work and patience but you save a lot of money in the long run. This is as long as you don’t go crazy just to get something cheap you don’t need. I have very few rules when it comes to shopping. I ask myself:

  • Do I need it now ?
  • Will I need it soon?
  • Can someone use it?
  • Am I going to spend money I need for something else ?

Believe me, I am not the one to just stock up on items because they were free or cheap. For instance, Scott towels are on sale. There are several rebates and coupons plus store incentives, but I do not like it. I don’t have a garage full of stuff, but I do have a few closets. It’s all about balance and budgets. 

Any who… back to saving… I did very well today … I was able combine sales, store coupons and manufacture coupons that I obtained either by newspaper or printed via coupons.com, smartsource.com, or redplum.com


Publix

Transaction #1

  • 2 Herbal Essence Shampoos 
  • 2 Herbal Essence Conditioners 
  • 4 Nutella 
  • 4 Brawny Paper Towels 
  • 2 Honey Nut Cherrios
  • 2 Centrum Silvers 
  • 1 10 oz Vaseline Lotion
  • 1 New York Pull Apart Bread 

Total before Sale, Store Coupons, Manufacturer Coupons: $ 62.23

Total After:$ 12.97 

Rebates : Ibotta – 1.50 plus .50 bonus from Vaseline , .25 for the NY bread 

Checkout 51 – .75 NY Bread 

SavingStar – $1 for buying 2 General Mills, $2 for buying 1 Centrum , .25 for brawny towels 

Publix 

Transaction # 2

  • 2 Nutella 
  • 2 Cherrios 
  • 2 Herbal Essence Shampoos 
  • 2 Herbal Essence Conditioners 

Total before Sale, Store Coupons, Manufacturer Coupons: 22.98
Total After : $2.15

Rebates : SavingStar – $1 for buying 2 General Mills

CVS

2 St Ives Body Washes

Total before Sale and Store Coupon: $7.49

Total After:$4.00

Rebates: Ibotta – $2 for buying 2 St Ives Bodywash 

All in all I spent about $20 and I am getting back $9 in rebates. Over all average of 71% saving plus rebates. I’m a happy girl.

Happy Saving!

Ericka 

2 thoughts on “Adventures In Saving 

Leave a Reply

